Shared Governance Award

Shared Governance Award logo
The MU Faculty Council on University Policy recognizes the importance of genuine shared governance to the success of our University. With this in mind, Council created this award to recognize individuals and groups who have demonstrated a commitment to and excellence in shared governance on our campus. Up to two awards will be given each year (one individual, one group). The Individual Award recognizes a member of the MU community who has made a significant contribution to shared governance. The Group Award recognizes a committee, office, or other collective of University community members that has made a significant contribution to shared governance.

Thanks to the generosity of the Chancellor, each category recipient will receive a $500.00 reward.

The individual award may be given to any member of the MU campus (faculty, staff, administrator, student). Current Faculty Council members are not eligible for recognition.

The group award may go to a committee, office, division, department, or other recognizable collective of MU campus members. Faculty Council standing committees are not eligible for recognition, though a committee that includes a member (or members) of Faculty Council and/or Faculty Council appointees may be considered for recognition.

Any member of the MU faculty may propose nominations for individual and group awards.

Nomination materials will include:

  • For both categories: A nomination letter describing the activity or activities that qualify the candidate for nomination. The letter should also specifically address the impact of the nominee’s contributions to shared governance on campus.
  • For individual award: A recent CV –or– list of shared governance-related activities, with roles and dates where possible.
  • For group award: A description of the committee/division/department’s responsibilities, tasks and/or charges (preferably a formal/“official” one), together with a list of its current members. The list may also include notable former members, if the nominator believes it relevant.


Campaign will be announced at the first meeting of the semester of Faculty Council in the Fall.  The chosen winners will be announced at the Spring General Faculty meeting.  

This award process has concluded for the 2020-2021 campaign.  Please visit our page in the Fall 2021-2022 semester for updated Spring campaign dates and deadlines.