Meeting Minutes: August 23, 2012


Members Present: Steve Ball, Jim Baumann, Clyde Bentley, Gordon Christensen, A. Cooper Drury, Lisa Flores, Francisco Gomez, Raja Gopaldas, Bina Gupta, Cheryl Heesch, Art Jago, Rebecca Johnson, Kattesh Katti, Ilhyung Lee, Sudarshan Loyalka, Tony Lupo, Judith Mabary, Tom Marrero, Dennis Miller, Stephen Montgomery-Smith, Karen Piper, Joe Parcell, Craig Roberts, Harry Tyrer, Rachel Brekus (Librarians), Mark Prelas (AAUP), Richard Guyette (NTT), Nicole Monnier (NTT), Katherine Reed (NTT), Sam White (NTT), and Rebekah Hart (sec.). Members Absent: Tim Evans, Candace Galen, Stephen Sayers, Vitor Trindade, Douglas Wakefield, and Charles Nilon (Black Faculty and Staff).

Approval of Minutes

Chair Harry Tyrer called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. in S203 Memorial Union. The minutes of July 26, 2012 were approved as amended.

Report of Officers

Tyrer reminded Council that our annual workshop is September 6 from 1:00-7:00 p.m. in the Memorial Union.  There will be a session with Chancellor Deaton, Provost Foster, and President Emeritus Mel George on shared faculty governance followed by our business session and dinner.

The National Council for Teacher Quality (NCTQ) has contacted MU School of Education in order to obtain course syllabi for teacher education classes.  The decision to participate is with the Education Colleges at our four campuses; we are listed as not cooperating.  We have elected not to participate.  This item will be turned over to the Faculty Affairs Committee.

Discussion Items

Council Standing Committee Assignments.  Tyrer asked Council to check this roster in their meeting materials packet for their assignment.

Missouri Press Resolution.  The resolution passed at the 7-26-12 Faculty Council meeting appears below.

The Faculty Council of the University of Missouri calls on President Timothy Wolfe to postpone the closure of the University Press pending discussion with the faculty regarding the future of the Press.

This resolution was sent to President Wolfe on 7-27-12.  President Wolfe responded quickly that he would meet with the Executive Committee. This meeting took place the following week (8/6/12).

Chancellor Emeritus Richard Wallace addressed Council on the need to appoint an advisory committee on the press.  Wallace shares a desire with us that the University maintain a high quality Academic Press.  The concurrent plan is to develop an advisory committee starting with a nomination process next week followed by planning a charge for this group.  The advisory committee will include representatives from all four campuses; the press will be located on the Columbia campus but will broadly serve the university system, the state, and internationally.

The original motion is set forth below.

The Faculty Council of the University of Missouri call on President Timothy Wolfe to:

Since, item 1 was reworded to be the motion sent to President Wolfe it was removed. However, some wished to retain it in the full motion. A motion was made and seconded to retain item 1 and it was defeated, 9 for it and 11 against, (3 abstain). The full motion was discussed. The motion is too complicated. There was concern over the reputation of the press. Several members of Faculty Council stressed the importance of retaining peer review for publications in the MU press. The motion was tabled.

It was moved and seconded.  The Faculty Council is pleased that President Wolfe has rescinded/postponed the decision to close the UM Press and the Council calls for all actions pertaining to the closure be reversed.

The motion was defeated. In favor were 7, opposed 16. A motion to suspend the rules on motions was made. In favor were 18, against 2, (3 abstain).


Council met in executive session in order to approve committee nominations. The meeting adjourned at 5:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Tony Lupo, Recorder