Meeting Minutes: September 8, 2011


Members present: Edward Adelstein, Andre Ariew, Clyde Bentley, John Dwyer, Jeni Hart (for Lisa Flores), Ann Harrell, Arthur Jago, Jonathan Krieckhaus, Sudarshan Loyalka, Tom Marrero, Dennis Miller, Leona Rubin, Stephen Montgomery-Smith (for Johannes Schul), James Tarr, Harry Tyrer, Douglas Wakefield, Shelley Worden (Librarians), Richard Guyette (NTT), Nicole Monnier (NTT), and Rebekah Hart (sec.). Members absent: Steve Ball, Gordon Christensen, Cheryl Heesch, Rebecca Johnson, Kattesh Katti, Norman Land, Ilhyung Lee, Joe Parcell, Craig Roberts, Stephen Sayers, James Tarr, Vitor Trindade, Edward Hunvald (Retirees), Charles Nilon (Black Faculty and Staff), Katherine Reed (NTT), and Sam White (NTT).

Approval of Minutes

Chair Harry Tyrer called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. in S203 Memorial Union. The July 29, 2011 Council minutes were approved as submitted.

Report of Officers

Tyrer thanked the Faculty Council Standing Committees for getting set up and beginning their work. Tyrer reported that he is currently working with the offices of the Provost and Chancellor for meeting with them this academic year. He asked Council representatives to forward to him any input they have from their constituencies for these upcoming meetings. Tyrer reported on a recent meeting with student leaders on the diversity requirement. The students would have liked for the requirement to pass however they don’t want more burden on their requirements and an experience would be better than a course. Tyrer announced there would be a closed session to deal with committee vacancies.

Rubin, Intercampus Faculty Council (IFC) representative, reported briefly on: performance funding, and E-online learning task force. Rubin is in receipt of a newsletter document from Governor Nixon’s office and the National Governors Association. This newsletter describes performance funding and the supporting metrics of graduation rates and teaching. There is a question about how research will be measured; the metrics currently lack provision for “robust” research institutions. The e-online task force is meeting and plans to meet for the next eight weeks. During this time they plan to hold faculty forums for discussion and they plan to finish at the end of the fall semester.

Discussion Items

Grievance Resolution Panel (GRP) - Rubin. Rubin reported that Council will need to name a replacement for Laurie Mintz on the GRP. The Executive Committee will be looking at the list of nominations for replacements and will return with a shortened list at the next meeting.

2013-2014 Academic Calendar - Monnier. This calendar is not dissimilar to the 2011-2012, and the 2012-2013 calendars; reading day is Friday in both the fall and spring semesters. There is an inclement weather plan being advanced with this calendar that would provide for loss of two days a semester if needed. The calendar will return for further discussion and action at the next meeting.

2010-2011 Committee on Committees' Report. The Committee on Committees' annual report recommended closure of two campus committees: Academic Assessment and Admissions Review. Council voted to suspend the rules, then voted unanimously to discontinue these committees.

Standing Committee Reports

Academic Affairs Committee: Monnier, chair, in addition to the calendar they are reviewing the Faculty Handbook for corrections and will be meeting with Jim Spain concerning undergraduate research and mentorship.

Faculty Affairs Committee: Bentley, chair, reported, they are working on creating a charge for a task force to look at tenure/promotion issues. This task force membership will be chosen from Curators' Professors and they will be looking at all aspects of the process.

Diversity Enhancement Committee: Galen, chair, reported they are revisiting the diversity course requirement and continuing to promote and follow domestic partner benefits for the university.


Council met in executive session in order to make committee nominations. The meeting adjourned at 5:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Shelley Worden, Recorder