Meeting Minutes: May 5, 2011


Members Present: Edward Adelstein, Steve Ball, Clyde Bentley, Leah Cohn, Candace Galen, Art Jago, Kattesh Katti, Jonathan Krieckhaus, Sudarshan Loyalka, Tom Marrero, Xiaoguang Ni, Joe Parcell, Leona Rubin, Johannes Schul, James Tarr, Harry Tyrer, Dana Weston, Bill Wiebold, Shelley Worden (Librarians), Edward Hunvald (MURA), Stephen Montgomery-Smith (AAUP), Richard Guyette (NTT), Nicole Monnier (NTT), Katherine Reed, Paul Rainsberger (for Sam White) and Rebekah Hart (sec.). Members Absent: Gordon Christensen, John Dwyer, Ann Harrell, Rebecca Johnson, Victoria Johnson, Norman Land, John Lande, April Langley, Rebecca McCathren, Stephen Sayers, Douglas Wakefield, and Charles Nilon (Black Faculty and Staff).

Approval of Minutes

Chair Leona Rubin called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. in S304 Memorial Union. The Faculty Council minutes of 3-17-11 and 4-7-11 were approved as submitted.

Report of Officers

Rubin announced to Council that Chancellor Deaton has been appointed chair of the Board for International Food and Agricultural Development by President Barack Obama, effective immediately.  Rubin also shared with Council that University of Nebraska at Lincoln has recently been dropped by the AAU due to the method this institution’s grant dollars are calculated (the Medical School is calculated separately).    There is much concern about this in the land grant universities around the country.  She reminded Council that standing committee year-end reports are due.

Wiebold reported on the May meeting of the Intercampus Faculty Council (IFC).  IFC continues to discuss: faculty civility, domestic partner benefits, a policy for revocation of degrees for all four campuses, and academic freedom in the classroom.  UMKC recently voted to allow their NTT faculty to vote in elections.  The university system is combining all four campus’s email.  It will be hosted in Columbia with a back up in Rolla.

Action Items

Guest:  Chris Fender, Director, Office of Technology Management and Industry Relations for the MU Faculty Advisory Committee on Intellectual Property.  Fender spoke about the proposed faculty standing committee on intellectual property.  The role of this committee is to provide communication between faculty and his office.  A motion was made to accept the proposal and seconded.  Council then voted and unanimously passed the proposal to create a new faculty standing committee.

Proposed Faculty Council Resolution on Hitt Street & Proposed Faculty Council Resolution on Memorial for Students Killed in Wars - Wiebold.  After discussion the proposal to close Hitt Street was tabled to a later date.  On the proposal for a war memorial, Council requested that they work closely with the Veterans and Military Affairs Committee and any other veterans groups on campus.  Council then voted to unanimously pass this item.

“Proposed Faculty Council Resolution on Memorial for Students Killed in Wars

Construction of the beautiful Memorial Union bell tower began in 1916, but was halted during WWI. Construction resumed after the war and was completed in 1926. It stands as memorial to MU students who were killed in WWI. Their names are engraved on the walls of the bell tower. Pedestrians passing through the arch are asked to bow their heads and reflect on the sacrifices of those students.

The war to end wars did not do so. Brave Missourians have served and continue to serve in two current wars, Iraq and Afghanistan. The numbers (as of April 1, 2011) of Missourians killed in these recent wars are: 76 in Iraq and 12 in Afghanistan. Previous wars have claimed the lives of many Missourians (e.g. 919 in Korea and 1411 in Viet Nam). The number of all casualties that were or had been MU students is not easy to ascertain, but that should not be a barrier to honoring our students, alumni and their relatives.

MU Faculty Council:

1.    requests that Chancellor Brady Deaton develop an appropriate memorial to MU students, alumni, and their relatives that have given their lives in service to their country

2.    requests that the proposed memorial fits their sacrifice and includes specific information such as names and hometowns rather than a generic recognition

3.    requests that the proposed memorial be situated near Memorial Union

4.    requests that the Chancellor work closely with the Chancellor’s Committee for Veterans and Military Affairs to  determine appropriate actions on all issues related to proposed memorial

5.    requests that the Chancellor report back to Faculty Council by December 1, 2011 progress on planning for the proposed memorial.”

Service Award Plaques - Rubin.  The following faculty received service award plaques in honor of their years of service on Faculty Council: Leah Cohn, John Lande, Xiaoguang Ni, Rebecca McCathren, April Langley, Dana Weston, Victoria Johnson, and William Wiebold.

Standing Committee Reports

Student Affairs Committee: Nicole Monnier reported for Steven Sayers, chair.  The committee recently met and discussed:   pedestrian safety issues on campus; and, discussed with MSA president Eric Woods tuition increases and domestic partner benefits.


There was a closed session to approve the executive committee nominations for campus and faculty standing committees 2011-2012 and Council elections.  The remaining offices for the 2011-2012 Council were elected: Steven Sayers, Students Affairs; Nicole Monnier, Academic Affairs; Candace Galen, Diversity; Kattesh Katti, Fiscal Affairs; and Clyde Bentley, Faculty Affairs. 

The meeting adjourned at 5:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Shelley Worden, Recorder