Meeting Minutes: August 23, 2007


Present: Doug Abrams, Edward Adelstein, Judy Bolch, Leah Cohn, Michael Devaney, Michael Diamond, Jay Dow, Clark Gantzer, Arthur Jago, Carol Lazzaro-Weis, Alan Luger, Rebecca McCathren, Steve Neal, Joe Parcell, Tom Phillips, Leona Rubin, Frank Schmidt, Lloyd Barrow (for James Tarr), Adrienne Hoard (Black Faculty and Staff), Geoffrey Swindells (Library), G.B. Thompson (for Edward Hunvald, Retirees), and Rebekah K. Hart (sec.). Absent: Joanne Banks-Wallace, Charles Borduin, Bryan Garton, Brick Johnstone, Norman Land, Kenneth MacLeod, Anand Prahlad, Michael Taksar, J. Wilson Watt, Bill Wiebold, Bennett Greenspan (AAUP), Lori McKinley (NTT), Vern Pierce (NTT), and Fred Williams (NTT).

Approval of Minutes

Chair Frank Schmidt called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m., in room S203 Memorial Union.
The 8/2/07 Council meeting minutes were approved as submitted. [Schmidt announced that the order of the meeting changed to accommodate Council's guests first, then the remaining meeting would follow.]

Report of Officers

Schmidt reminded Council of the Annual Faculty Council Workshop on the afternoon of Thursday, August 30 at Reynolds Alumni Center. He urged the attendance of each member of Council. Wilson Watt, Intercampus Faculty Council (IFC) representative, announced the dates September 10 & 11 of the Retreat at the Lake of the Ozarks.

Action Items

Guest: Chancellor Brady Deaton on Name Restoration. Dr. Deaton reported that after receiving similar sentiments from constituencies and alumnus of Columbia campus for a name restoration to University of Missouri, he proposed and submitted a change of name resolution to the Council for the August 2 meeting. There was a discussion with the majority of the faculty agreeing with his proposal. The proposal was revised with a couple minor friendly amendments. After a call for a vote, Council passed the resolution by voice vote.

"Resolution Supporting a Name Restoration
From University of Missouri-Columbia
to University of Missouri

Whereas the University of Missouri, created in Columbia in 1839 to serve all citizens of the state, carried this name until the University of Missouri System was established with four branches in 1963;

Whereas this university, renamed the University of Missouri-Columbia in 1963, retains its historic statewide mission as a land-grant university, respected since the renaming as the "flagship campus" of the University of Missouri System;

Whereas the University of Missouri-Columbia, widely known throughout the state, the nation and the world as the University of Missouri, competes nationally and globally for students, faculty, research funding and other resources essential to performing its historic statewide mission;

Whereas the current regional naming system places the University of Missouri-Columbia at a competitive disadvantage by fostering misperceptions of the historic statewide mission among potential donors and other members of the public;

Whereas the University of Missouri Alumni Association Governing Board, which represents more than 200,000 worldwide alumni of the University of Missouri-Columbia, has endorsed the proposal to restore the historic name of the University of Missouri;

Now therefore, the University of Missouri-Columbia Faculty Council strongly supports the recommendation to restore the name of the University of Missouri-Columbia to the University of Missouri."

Council engaged Chancellor Deaton in other discussion. Alan Luger asked Deaton about our response to the anti-stem cell coalition and was reassured that the university would provide an answer to this issue. Clark Gantzer queried the Chancellor about our preparedness in the event of an emergency such as the shootings of students on the Virginia Tech campus. Deaton assured Council that we have plans in place and recently ran a simulation of a similar scenario. There was a brief discussion on the 1 percent saving plan to provide future salary increases for faculty. Jay Dow raised issues of reviewing expenditures, especially in his area, and plans are being made to invite Tim Rooney, Budget Director to discuss budget and give us some understanding of its process.

Item from the Registrar. The faculty voted unanimously to allow students in internships to be exempt from late fees.

"Article III

3. No student will be permitted to register in any school or college of the MU or in any course, other than Problems, Special Readings, Internships, or Research, after the expiration of one week following the first day of classes in regular session or the equivalent thereof in a shorter session. A department may establish an earlier deadline."

Discussion Items

Standing Committee Assignments. Schmidt commented that if anyone wished to serve on a standing committee different from the one they were assigned to, that may do so if they can find someone to switch assignments with. Assignments were available in the meeting packet and electronically in the email reminder.

Faculty Council Workshop. Schmidt reminded both continuing and new members of Council of our upcoming annual workshop event in the following week. Newly constituted standing committees will meet with their chairs during the business session and report back to Council on those areas and issues that will be their charge for the coming academic year. During the dinner hour Council will see a theatrical performance "Difficult Dialogues" by Professors Suzanne Burgoyne and Roger Worthington and their theatrical troupe.

Standing Committee Reports

Student Affairs: Devaney, chair, reported that he has been brought a concern for safety in our parking garages and this will be one of the items his committee will be looking into this coming academic year. He also reported that he is contacting the MSA (Missouri Students Association) requesting that they send a representative to Council meetings.

Other Business

Lloyd Barrow asked about the Presidential Search. Schmidt replied that there had been no recent communication between the Curators and the faculty representatives.


The meeting went into a brief closed session for committee appointments. The meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.