Meeting Minutes: February 7, 2002


Present: Jeffrey Anglen, Nelson Cowan, Gordon Christensen, Bruce Cutter, Michael Devaney, Sara Gable, Judith Goodman, Daniel Hooley, Tom Hurley, Philip Johnson, Norman Land, Sylvia Lazos, Sudarshan Loyalka, Michael McKean, Anne McKendry, Loren Nikolai, Catherine Parke, Peggy Placier, Eileen Porter, Paul Sharp, Donald Sievert, MaryEllen Sievert, William Wiebold, Russ Zguta, Jenice Prether-Kinsey (Black Faculty and Staff), Herbert Tillema (AAUP), Charles Cramer (Retirees), and Pat Timberlake (Librarians). Absent: Tobias Baskin, Bill Lamberson, and Daniel Longo.

Report of Officers

The meeting was called to order by Chair Russ Zguta at 3:30 p.m. in room S203 of the Memorial Union. Zguta reported that the website responses to requests for standing committee volunteers has been less than expected in the past and that the deadline for responses has been extended to February 15.

Don Sievert reported that he asked University General Counsel Marvin Wright why the afternoon session of the January 18, 2002 Board of Curators meeting was closed to the public. This same question was asked of the Board Secretary Cathy Miller and she responded that this session was for orientation of new Board members. Sievert was assured that there were no actions taken in the closed session and reported that the special board meeting of February 8, 2002 would be open until an immediate vote would be taken to go into closed session.

Discussion Items

Lori Franz, Associate Provost on Program Reviews and Faculty Accomplishments System Database (FAS). The first topic discussed was the plans of the Provost office to become more involved in the five year departmental/program reviews. The Provost office sees the reviews as opportunities to improve campus programs and seeks to involve Faculty Council as a regular participant in the evaluation process. Concerns were raised regarding flexibility of review timetables; inconsistencies between national accreditation guidelines and Provost's criteria; availability of faculty to participate; loss of Council's independence in taking on a function of the Provost's office; implementation of recommendations from past reviews. Consensus of Council was that enthusiasm for its participation in the review process was limited.

The second topic discussed was the creation of a database listing faculty accomplishments. The expectation of this new system is to reduce duplication of effort in producing reports as well as being useful in the post-tenure review process. Further, it could possibly be used for departmental reviews and NIH and NSF reports. There were some reservations expressed regarding: 1) confidentiality/security; 2) incorporation of past accomplishments; 3) general accessibility of the database - and the ability to tamper with it; 4) quality of the data and its relationship to resource allocation; and, 5) the mere counting of publications.

Grievances - Loyalka. Sudarshan Loyalka and Gordon Christensen reported from the Faculty Affairs Committee which expressed concerns regarding different understandings of what constitutes a tenure track appointment. They further discussed the apparent lack of accountability when administrators fail to conform to university regulations and the role of the university general counsel in formulating policies. Following discussion Zguta suggested that the committee forward its report to the Chancellor as a "sense of the Faculty Council" document. Zguta also asked this committee to bring a report back to Council in two weeks that would have some concrete steps to implement changes in the university's tenure guidelines.

2001 Representation Report. The report was presented to Council as a discussion item and will be revisited in two weeks as an action item. Council would gain two additional seats, one in Arts and Science (for a new total of nine seats) and a seat for the Graduate School of Public Policy which has nine faculty in it.

Standing Committee Reports

Special Projects: Chair Bruce Cutter reported that the Missouri Association of Faculty Senates (MAFS) recently met in Jefferson City. In conjunction with his participation in the MAFS meeting, Cutter had discussions with the two local representatives, Vicky Riback-Wilson and Chuck Graham.

Student Affairs: Chair Mike Devaney reported that there will be a survey of academic integrity distributed to students and faculty. Further, he reported that a policy of dealing with disruptive students would soon be formulated.


There being no other business, Council was adjourned at 4:45 p.m. to go into a closed session. Robert Youngquist, chair of the Honorary Degrees Committee joined Council at this time.

Respectfully submitted,
Tom Hurley, Recorder