Meeting Minutes: July 29, 1999


Present: Edward Adelstein, Lloyd Barrow, Bruce Cutter, Michael Devaney, Dan Edidin, Elizabeth Geden, Allen Hahn, Daniel Hooley, Thomas Hurley, Robert Jerry, Don Sievert for Robert Johnson, Sudarshan Loyalka, Michael McKean, Anne McKendry, Mark Milanick, Don Miles, Glenn Pierce, David Rayl, Robert Weagley, William Wiebold, Russ Zguta, Robert Almony (Librarians), and Wayne Decker (Retirees). Absent: Dennis Wright (for Bruce Biddle), William Davis, Judith Goodman, Robert Hall, Loren Nikolai, and Mable Grimes (Black Faculty&Staff). Retiring Council members present: Nancy Knipping, Don Sievert (for Paul Weirich), Edward Hunvald, and Henry Liu. Retiring Council members absent: Robin Remington, Mel Blase, Gordon Christensen, and Bill Kurtz.

Report of Officers

The meeting was called to order at 3:30 p.m. by Chair Robert Weagley in room S110 of the Memorial Union.

Weagley welcomed all the new Council members and expressed Council's thanks to those members retiring.

Weagley announced that the forty percent release time for the Faculty Council Chair has been reinstated.

A few items were briefly discussed by Council during this time and they were: Norm Stewart's compensation as a consultant, and the University of Missouri's purchase of Columbia Regional Hospital.

Action Items

Non-regular Faculty. Professor Elizabeth Geden introduced this item to Council for the Faculty Affairs Standing Committee. After this introduction Council moved and seconded for a vote to approve this item. Following a brief discussion of motion to approve, Council voted by unanimous voice vote to approve the guidelines concerning non-regular faculty from the Faculty Affairs committee.

Discussion Items

System Strategic Plan. After a lengthy discussion of the document, "Design for the Future" Council instructed Chair Weagley to send his draft letter to President Pacheco and Chancellor Wallace urging them for more opportunities for faculty input in the University's planning process.

Acceptable Use of MU Computing Resources. Professor Michael McKean reported to Council that he has been active this summer researching the requirement that all incoming students have computers. He has personally been in contact with institutions that have such a requirement in place.

Board of Curators Report

Professor Edward Hunvald presented his written report of the July Board meeting on the Columbia campus. He advised Council that the next Board meeting will be September 2&3 in Portageville, Missouri.

Standing Committee Reports

The standing committee chairs provided brief summaries of their committee activities of this past year to Council.


Council moved into closed session at 4:43 p.m. to discuss committee appointments and to conduct the election of the 1999-00 Executive Committee. The 1999-00 Chair and Vice Chair elections took place in April in accordance with Council's Rules of Order. The remaining eight offices of the Executive Committee were elected at this meeting. The 1999-00 Executive Committee is as follows:

Chair, Elizabeth Geden Vice Chair, Russ Zguta Board Observer, Robert Weagley IFC Representative&Editor of Faculty Forum, Robert Hall Recorder, Judith Goodman Chair of Faculty Affairs, Edward Adelstein Chair of Academic Affairs, Lloyd Barrow Chair of Student Affairs, Michael Devaney Chair of Fiscal Affairs, Robert Almony Chair of Special Projects, Bruce Cutter The meeting adjourned at 5:25 p.m.

Respectively submitted,
Glenn Palen Pierce, Recorder