Meeting Minutes: July 26, 2012


Members Present: Steve Bell, Jim Baumann, Clyde Bentley, Raja Gopaldas, Bina Gupta, Cheryl Heesch, Art Jago, Rebecca Johnson, Sudarshan Loyalka, Tony Lupo, Judith Mabary, Tom Marrero, Stephen Montgomery-Smith, Karen Piper, Craig Roberts, Harry Tyrer, Rachel Brekus (Librarians), Don Sievert (MURA), Richard Guyette (NTT), Katherine Reed (NTT), and Rebekah Hart (sec.). Members Absent: Gordon Christensen, A. Cooper Drury, Tim Evans, Lisa Flores, Candace Galen, Francisco Gomez, Kattesh Katti, Ilhyung Lee, Dennis Miller, Joe Parcell, Stephen Sayers, Vitor Trindade, Douglas Wakefield, Charles Nilon (Black Faculty and Staff), Nicole Monnier (NTT), and Sam White (NTT). Members Retiring Present: Edward Adelstein, Leona Rubin, Johannes Schul, and Shelley Worden (librarians).

Approval of Minutes

Chair Harry Tyrer called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. in S203 Memorial Union. The minutes of June 14, 2012 were approved as submitted.

Discussion Items

Guest(s):  Betsy Rodriguez, Vice President Human Resources and    Kelley Stuck, Associate Vice President Total Compensation on TDI (tax deferred investment) transition.  Rodriguez announced that October 1, 2012 the new retirement plan for new employees begins.  The presentations for the voluntary retirement plan are scheduled on campus in August and September.  There will be no matching university funds, just employee contributions made through payroll deduction.  The university has chosen Fidelity to be the “master administrator” of all funds and this will impact anyone who participates in the 403b, 457 or 401a plans.  There will be no change in TIAA-CREF funds.


Missouri Press with guest speakers:  Dr. R. Speer Morgan, Director of Creative Writing, English Department, and Dr. Lee Wilkins Black, Curator’s Professor, Journalism.  [Recorder’s note:  Dr. R. Speer Morgan did not attend this meeting.]   The discussion began with Wilkins Black, as a member of the Editorial Board, stating that it would be smart, wise and politically astute for the administration and new press to ask for faculty input.  She was asked about the rationale for the change and answered that she didn’t know other than the financial problems cited earlier.  It was pointed out that there is much press closure misinformation concerning the disposition of the staff, the publications, and basic timing of the closure.  Another guest speaker, Dr. Lois Huneycutt, Professor, History Department, said no other Missouri press has the mandate to print Missouri history books.  Huneycutt presented a bound document of the collection of signatures from to keep the press open.  She explained that the authors have been extremely happy about the professionalism of the press.  There was a motion made for a Council vote to pass the motion out on  After discussion, there was a motion to suspend the rules and this motion passed.  There was a motion made to remove the language pertaining to the layoffs and this motion passed.  Council then voted unanimously to accept the following resolution.

“The Faculty Council of the University of Missouri calls on President Timothy Wolfe to postpone the closure of the University Press pending discussion with the faculty regarding the future of the Press.”


Council agreed to return to this issue at their next meeting.

Any Other Business

Per an email action on July 23, 2012 from Chair Tyrer.


“Thank you for your replies.  There were 17 unequivocal yes votes to speed up the smokeless campus implementation.   That is, Move the implementation date from January 1 2014 to July 1 2013.  That’s a majority and the motion passes.”


Council met in executive session in order to approve committee nominations, conduct a Council election, discuss Provost Foster’s evaluation, and have the first meeting of the ’12-’13 Executive Committee.  The meeting adjourned at 5:45 p.m.


Respectfully submitted,

Tony Lupo, Recorder