Meeting Minutes: October 1, 2009


Members Present: Andrea Heiss (for Clyde Bentley), Leah Cohn, Michael Diamond, Ann Harrell, Arthur Jago, Rebecca Johnson, Jonathan Krieckhaus, Norman Land, Kenneth MacLeod, Thomas Marrero, Rebecca McCathren, Leona Rubin, Johannes Schul, Michael Taksar, James Tarr, Gui DeZousa (for Harry Tyrer), Douglas Wakefield, Bill Wiebold, Shelley Worden (Librarians), Edward Hunvald (Retirees), Stephen Montgomery-Smith (AAUP), Rebekah K. Hart (sec.). Members Absent: John Dwyer, April Langley, Alan Luger, Xiaoguang Ni, Joe Parcell, Stephen Sayers, J. Wilson Watt, Adam Whaley-Connell, Ronald Wheeland, Ian Worthington, Fred Williams (NTT), Charles Nilon (Black Faculty & Staff).

Approval of Minutes

Chair Leona Rubin called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m., in S203 Memorial Union. The 9-17-09 Council minutes were approved as submitted. The agenda order was suspended in order to take our guest first.

Report of Officers

Rubin made some short announcements: (1) A policy revision, "Acceptable Use Policy" (allowing the university to access email) is being forwarded from Intercampus Faculty Council to the Board for their approval. Rubin is planning to meet with Beth Chancellor, IAT Services to convey Faculty Council concerns: what conditions are acceptable business use and will they notify employees when their email has been accessed. (2) During the ESPN coverage of the October 8, 2009 football game the Journalism School and their graduates plus the Children’s Hospital will be featured.

Discussion Items

Guest: Jim Snider, MU Flagship Council. Mr. Snider addressed Faculty Council with a current report and overview of MU Flagship Council. He stated that the sole purpose of the Council is to promote MU in the Missouri General Assembly and with Missouri statewide elected officials. He said the University of Missouri is important to the state legislature. The Flagship Council restates continuously the importance of the university to the legislature due to term limits and continuous turnover. The 2010 priorities of the Council are: continuing efforts to stabilize the operating budget, passage of a statewide capital bond issue to provide critically needed capital improvements, and current law provides twice the scholarship award to students attending private institutions.

Standing Committee Reports

Faculty Affairs: Tarr, chair, reported they will look at the issue of non-tenure track faculty serving on Campus Standing committees and they are currently gathering information.

Diversity Enhancement: Cohn, chair, reported they will be meeting with Roger Worthington, Chief Diversity Officer about diversity issues and they are currently examining the intellectual pluralism statement.


Council met for a brief closed session in order to make committee nominations. The meeting adjourned at 4:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,
Shelley Worden, Recorder