Meeting Minutes: January 24, 2008


Present: Doug Abrams, Edward Adelstein, Joanne Banks-Wallace, John Fennell (for Judy Bolch), Leah Cohn, Michael Devaney,  Jay Dow, Clark Gantzer, Bryan Garton,  Arthur Jago, Norman Land,  Alan Luger,  Ken MacLeod, Jim McGlew, Steve Neal, Joe Parcell, Tom Phillips, Leona Rubin, Stephen Sayers, Michael Taksar, James Tarr, Adam Whaley-Connell, Bill Wiebold, Adrienne Hoard (Black Faculty & Staff), Geoffrey Swindells (Librarians), Edward Hunvald (Retirees), Lori McKinley (NTT), and Rebekah K. Hart (sec.).  Absent:  Charles Borduin, Michael Diamond, Rebecca McCathren, Anand Prahlad, Frank Schmidt, J. Wilson Watt, Vern Pierce (NTT), and Fred Williams (NTT).

Approval of Minutes

Vice Chair Steve Neal called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m., in room S203 Memorial Union.  The 10/25/07gfm, 11/1/07, and 11/15/07 Council meeting minutes were approved as submitted.

Report of Officers

Neal made introductions of new members of Faculty Council: Jim McGlew (A&S); John Fennell (Journalism); Stephen Sayers (Health Professions); Adam Whaley-Connell (Medicine); and Shelley Worden (Library).  He announced that our new president is Gary Forsee and that Gordon Lamb has agreed to remain in an advisory position during the transistion.  The recent Intercampus Faculty Council meetings (IFC) have been focused on the issue of intellectual plurism.  The Chancellor’s Wellness Walk was announced for Thursday, May 22, 2008.  Michael Deveney has agreed to serve as chair of the three member nomination committee for 2008 elections on Council.

Abrams gave a short Board report of the November meeting.  The next meeting of the Board is at the end of January.

Action Items

Grievance Process Revisions - Rubin. After a brief introduction by Rubin on the changes made by her committee Faculty Affairs to the faculty grievance process revisions and some resultant discussion, Council unanimously passed the document. In the discussion four changes were discussed: (a) reduce delays by the Chancellor; (b) the Chancellor can meet with both parties with the chairman present to get additional grievance information; (c) the grievant may opt out and file a lawsuit; (d) if the Chancellor does not rule on the case with the time limits there is a default to the original rulings by the grievance committee.

The next step is for Council to host faculty forums on this. Rubin and her committee were thanked for all their work.

Transfer Admission Policy - Phillips. Phillips pointed out that for students who meet our admission requirements they will only need a 2.5 GPA. However for students who do not meet MU standards they must take either English or Math.  Council then proceeded to vote and unanimously passed this measure.

"Proposed Modification to MU Transfer Admission Policy

  1. Transfer applicants to MU must have a 2.5 gpa in college level courses to be admissible. Transfer applicants who do not also meet MU's Freshman admission requirements must have completed at least 24 college level credits and must  have completed one of the following:
    1. A college algebra course with at least a C- or betterOR
    2. The equivalent of MU's EN 1000 with at least a C- grade.
  2. Transfer students with an AA degree from a regionally accredited Missouri Community College are admissible to MU.
  3. Full-time transfer students from other UM system campuses need only a 2.0 to be eligible to transfer to MU.


  1. Admission to MU does not guarantee admission to specific programs, as some are highly competitive.  Please see (appropriate website inserted) for specific program admission requirements.
  2. Students enrolling with an Associate in Arts degree with 60 or more transferable academic credits with a 2.0 or better will be considered as having junior level standing and having completed the general education requirements."

Discussion Items

Online course evaluations mandated by SB389 - Phillips.  In compliance to SB389 the university must maintain a web site for posting course evaluation information.  Ken Dean, Deputy Provost, addressed Council on this requirement.  After some discussion Neal asked Council to share this information with their respective constituencies and to forward any comments to the Faculty Council Office.

The discussion on SB389 focused on its impact on academic freedom and educational administration.  This would cover all courses and all individuals who have any teaching role.  Certain parts would be public, such as course, teacher rank (highest educational degree) and highest degree teacher has reached.  Other parts would be private and that would include rating for instructors and rating of instruction.

Standing Committee Reports

Fiscal Affairs: Dow, chair, is continuing to meet with Tim Rooney to understand better the budgeting process.

Student Affairs:  Devaney, chair, reported that he and his committee are meeting with Ann Korschgen on enrollment as well as the Office of Disability in order to ask for a reduction in the number of hours needed for students to be eligible for insurance.


A brief closed session was held for the Honorary Degrees Committee to report to Council and an election was held to replace Carol Lazzaro-Weis on the Executive Committee.  The meeting adjourned at 5:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,
Edward Adelstein, Recorder