Meeting Minutes: September 23, 2004

Minutes of the September 23, 2004 Faculty Council Meeting


Present: Edward Adelstein, Elizabeth Baker, Rex Campbell, Gordon Christensen, Bruce Cutter, Catherine Holland, Michael Kramer, Bill Lamberson, Glenn Leshner, Sudarshan Loyalka, Tom Marrero, Steven Neal, Tom Phillips, Eileen Porter, Charles Sampson, David Schenker, Frank Schmidt, Laura Schopp, Barbara Townsend, Wilson Watt, and Flore Zephir. Absent: Bruce Bullock, Pat Fry, Richard Hessler, Philip Johnson, Eric Landes, Kenneth MacLeod, Jenice Prather Kinsey, Dean Yarwood (Retirees), Michael Muchow (Library), Andrew Simpson (AAUP), and Robert Weems (Black Faculty and Staff)

Approval of Minutes

Chair Gordon Christensen called the meeting to order and announced that the Faculty Council meeting would be closed for purposes of discussing personnel matters with President Elson S. Floyd.

The Council resumed an open meeting at 4:45 p.m., with the report of officers.

Report of Officers

Christensen reported that the members of the Faculty Council had had the opportunity to individually present their views to President Floyd on the selection of the next Chancellor for the University of Missouri-Columbia. The meeting was cordial and frank. Because the meeting discussed specific applicants for this position, the proceedings were confidential.

There were no further reports or items for discussion.


The meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,
Rex Campbell, Recorder