Meeting Minutes: August 24, 2000


Present: Edward Adelstein, David Geary (for Nelson Cowan), Gordon Christensen, Bruce Cutter, Michael Devaney, Dan Edidin, Judith Goodman, L. Wayne Hess, Daniel Hooley, Robert Jerry, Philip Johnson, Alice Kuehn, Norman Land, Sudarshan Loyalka, Michael McKean, Anne McKendry, Loren Nikolai, Catherine Parke, Peggy Placier, David Rayl, MaryEllen Sievert, Robert Weagley, William Wiebold, Russ Zguta, Charles Cramer (Retirees), and Pat Timberlake (Librarians). Absent: Tobias Baskin, Tom Hurley, Mable Grimes (Black Faculty & Staff), and Eugene Iannotti (AAUP).

Approval of Minutes

Faculty Council Chairman Russ Zguta called the meeting to order in room S203 Memorial Union at approximately 3:30 p.m. The minutes of the July 27, 2000 Faculty Council meeting were approved as submitted.

Report of Officers

Zguta read a memo from Doris Littrell, Director, MU Direct. The memo informed Council that the starting date for the evening and weekend undergraduate degree programs for adults has been delayed indefinitely.

Zguta announced that future Council guests will be: Jack Burns, Vice Provost, Office of Research September 28; Mike Alden and Sarah Reesman, Director and Associate Director of Athletics October 12; and, Vicky Curby, Director, McNair Scholars Program November 2.

Intercampus Faculty Council Report (IFC)

MaryEllen Sievert, Council representative to IFC, reported on that group's recent retreat. Issues that IFC intends to address in the coming year include: 1) increased communication between IFC and the Board of Curators; 2) Post tenure review; 3) process and procedures for administrative review (the MU campus seems to be the only one where this is a significant concern); 4) monitoring of the new faculty shares plan; 5) copyright ownership of web-based materials; 6) policies and procedures for establishing endowed or named chairs, especially with regard to the faculty's role in the process; 7) establishment of a tuition waiver policy for faculty and their dependents; 8) a review of system-wide research and teaching awards, addressing the issue of whether or not holders of endowed chairs should be candidates for these awards; 9) lack of involvement of younger tenured faculty in service to the university because of the pressures of research; 10) long term financial outlook for the university (will additional reallocation of resources be required in future years?); and, 11) Executive Order #30, which creates a University Mediation Service.

Discussion Items

Guests: Hildegarde Heymann, Professor, Food Science and Unit Leader, Food Science and Engineering; and, Dennis Sentilles, Professor, Math to discuss the post tenure review document. Zguta introduced guests Hildegarde Heymann, and Dennis Sentilles, who along with Edward Adelstein (Council member) were appointed by Council as MU's representatives to the University Committee on Post Tenure Review. This committee was created at the request of President Pacheco communicated by a letter from the office of Vice President Stephen Lehmkuhle on November 9, 1999. This committee met during the winter semester and released a draft document on May 5. This draft is currently available on the web or in hard copy.

There will be a number of opportunities for MU faculty to respond to the document, including today's discussion. A discussion between the Executive Committee of Council and Lehmkuhle took place on August 17. There will also be open faculty forums (sponsored by Council's Faculty Affairs Committee) to be scheduled in September, 2000. In addition, the committee welcomes responses from individual faculty members. The president will again have this committee meet in October to revise the current draft document in light of faculty responses. The final document will be presented to the Board of Curators at their December 14-15 meeting in Columbia.

Heymann, Sentilles, and Adelstein outlined the work of the committee and the process by which the current draft document was arrived at. A lively discussion followed.

A frequently expressed concern was the definition of the terms "satisfactory" and "unsatisfactory" as used within the draft document. Several members asked what criteria will be applied in determining if a faculty member's performance is "satisfactory?" A number felt that post tenure review as outlined would create a negative atmosphere on campus, would weaken the university's ability to recruit and retain high quality faculty, and would be a threat to academic freedom because it would impinge upon a faculty member's ability to pursue his/her own research interests.

On the other hand, some members felt that the proposed plan had a sufficient number of checks and balances to ensure that it would be implemented fairly and that faculty would actually have more protection under the proposed plan than they currently do under Executive Order 27.

Zguta concluded the discussion by urging the Council members to make faculty aware of the document and encourage the submission of input to the post tenure review committee.

Post Tenure Review - S. Loyalka. Sudarshan Loyalka discussed his July 24 memo to Council addressing the issue of post tenure review and academic freedom. Included with that memo was a written statement by Chancellor Richard Wallace, then UM Vice President for Academic Affairs, that addressed the issues of academic freedom and tenure from a philosophical and historical perspective. Loyalka read several excerpts from the Wallace's presentation and urged the Council members to read it in its entirety. Loyalka's conclusion is the time for post tenure review has not yet come.

Council Workshop - September 7, 2000. Zguta briefly reminded Council of the upcoming workshop on Thursday, September 7 and urged all members to attend this annual function.

Standing Committee Reports

Faculty Affairs: Edward Adelstein, chair, said the committee will continue to address the grievance process and the rights of nontenured faculty members.

Student Affairs: Michael Devaney, chair, said the committee will be considering a new set of student conduct procedures.


The meeting moved to closed session at 4:45 p.m. to make committee appointments. The meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,
David Rayl